President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo Honours The Ten Pioneers Of The Ghana Foreign Service, on Wednesday 4th July, 2018

The President of the Republic, His Excellency Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo presented awards to the ten(10) Pioneers of the Ghana Foreign Service on Wednesday July 4, 2018 at the Jubilee house, Accra.


The awards were presented to the former Ambassadors in recognition and remembrance of their pioneering and distinguished service in the conduct and advancement of Ghana’s diplomacy.

The awards were in two categories, posthumous and immediate. Eight (8) former Ambassadors received posthumous awards whiles two (2) received immediate awards.


The posthumous awards were presented to Ambassador Harry Reginald Amonoo, Ambassador Frederick Sigfried Arkhurst, Ambassador Kwaku Baprui Asante, Ambassador Frank Edmund Boaten and Ambassador Kenneth Kweku Sinaman Dadzie. The rest were Ambassador Abraham Benjamin Baah Kofi, Ambassador Alexander Quaison-Sackey and Ambassador Henry Van Hien Sekyi.

The awards for the immediate category went to Ambassador Richard Maximilian Akwei and Ambassador Ebenezer Moses Debrah.


In his remarks, President Akufo-Addo stated that it was important to recognise the invaluable work of the 10 Pioneers of Ghana’s Foreign Service who worked with distinction and dedication to promote Ghana’s foreign policy and achieved diplomatic landmarks, that have contributed in  to enhancing the image of the country.


The President further indicated that the “G10 of the Foreign Service of Ghana as they are fondly remembered, were subjected to the most rigorous of selection procedures. He added  that the 10 Ambassadors were responsible for advancing and promoting the image of Ghana which had then  gained independence and was leading the struggle for the liberation of Africa. “They achieved legendary status in the annals of Ghana’s Public Service” he added.


He urged the current generation of Foreign Service Officers to emulate them, by drawing inspiration from their legacies with the determination to match, if not excel their enviable records.


The President commended the Minister for Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration, Hon. Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey and her Ministry for their hard work and efforts to set up the Foreign Service Institute to train Foreign Service Officers to be distinguished Ghanaian diplomats.


He also thanked the families of the former Ambassadors for the support they given to the latter during their tenure as Foreign Service Officers.